PDA

View Full Version : Turboing a 461ci Pontiac

79TransAm
02-27-2006, 07:21 PM
I'd like to build a single turbod 461ci pontiac motor. Here is the motor I was planning on building. I wasnt looking for anything extravengent or expensive, just something that will work. I was only gonna run like 6-7lbs. I'm new to forced induction so any help would be great. I read the article bout 1 - 1-1/2 years ago in high perf pontiac bout a guy who turbod his 455 for under like $900 using a junkyard turbo and being creative. http://highperformancepontiac.com/tech/0309pon_turbo/ anyone have and good ideas? I was thinking bout getting a turbo off like chevy 6.5L turbo diesel pickup. also how reliable would the stock rods/crank be under about 6lbs of boost? If they would be reliable i'll probably just bore it .030 and use speed pro forged pistons to save money.

Not sure on carb for turbo app
edelbrock performer intake manifold
edelbrock performer 87cc heads
comp cams 51-222-4 cam(rpm:1300-5500 | DUR @ .050: 218/224 | Lift w/ 1.5: .462/.470 | LSA: 110*)
comp cams alum 1.65 roller rockers
comp cams chromemoly pushrods
eagle 461ci stroker kit(forged pistons, forged h beam rods, cast crank)
D Port exhaust manifolds
moroso deep oil pan
not sure on turbo or wastegate or bov

shmoov69
02-27-2006, 09:28 PM
I don't know much about Pontiac motors but with that size, I would DEFINATELY go with 2 of the 6.5 turbos.

DeltaT
02-28-2006, 02:35 PM
I would definitely recommend buying a copy of Corky Bells's book "Maximum Boost". It will address everything you are asking, from layout to fabrication to testing.

Good luck - sounds like fun!

Jim

67bird
02-28-2006, 02:54 PM