PDA

View Full Version : this is silly I know but when doing the

phoenixdawg
02-27-2006, 05:20 PM
swap you don't need a cowl hood for a 1st gen do you? I am sure you don't but I sure like the look of that hood a lot better than the stock.

Any thoughts go cowl hood or not?

WS6
02-27-2006, 05:37 PM
LS swap? if thats what is what your talking about then no you dont need a hood change

BMF Machine
02-27-2006, 05:45 PM
Oh Yea! I have been riding in first gen Camaro's since 1986, when my older brothers friend got one (1968 350 4 spd). All of them had cowl hoods(6 total)! It is what makes the early Camaro's look pi55ed while driving down the road, or just sitting there?

It is cool looking over it while driving as well! My .02 cents? ain't worth much

Kevin:smoke:

Or if you can fit enough under a stock hood to suit you and ya plan on going low, real low, on the suspension. A non cowl hood then makes them look so classy? And would save you $$$$$$$$$

ilovefirstgens
02-27-2006, 11:03 PM
unless you are running some really funny mounting there is absolutely gobs of space under the stock hood.

I'm having the same dielemma, leaving it on and having a pointless cowl hood, the problem is that because %99.999999 of first gens use them there dosent seem to be an attractive functional alternative, aside from the butt freakin ugly ls1 ss scoop year one hood.

Im gonna stick with it though.... form over function

DJW32
02-28-2006, 08:51 AM
The cowl hood allows the camaro to look tough

rocketman
02-28-2006, 02:51 PM
a camaro with out a cowl hood,just doesn't look right.i like the 3in tall myself.

Travis B
02-28-2006, 03:02 PM
I am not a fan of cowl hoods unless they are absolutly needed and you can't figure anything else out(i.e. bulged hood,reshaped flat hood,removing and redesigning bracing)! We all have different opinions though....

Steve68
02-28-2006, 06:10 PM
I like the flat hood,but have a cowl, I couldn't pass it up, brand new GM $400 local,