PDA

View Full Version : what are the basic metal working tools?

v7guy
02-17-2006, 10:39 AM
I just got done cutting a panel out of 16 gauge steel to cover a hole in my firewall (Roughly 2x2ft with lots of curves and holes for bolts). The tools I used was a black&decker jig saw and a 3/8 drill of the same brand. Now that the panel is done, I'm relieved, but I ruined both tools in the process. I had to stop several times during the drilling and cutting as they got extremely hot.

I can't help but think there has to be an easier way to do this, I presume it's with different tools. Alot of you guys mention bandsaws and drill presses in other threads, is this the solution? What should someone look for when buying these tools?

JoshStratton
02-17-2006, 12:04 PM
I am not a professional metal guy. Novice, at best, but I have dont a few panels before and am in the middle of a rather involved (for me) project involving the creation of a custom tail panel.

(Here are the parts I am using 79 Tail Fab (https://www.pro-touring.com/forum/showthread.php?t=13124)

I hope to REALLY get into it this weekend.

Anywhoo, I cannot imagine that jig took too kindly to that, especially 16 gauge. Mercy. :)

I personally like to use air tools. I have an 80 gallon air compressor that can handle just about anything.

My favorite tool is my Craftsman cut-off tool. It will cut through just about anything.

I am not into buying the really expensive stuff like bandsaws and drill presses. I try to make due with what I have because space is currently an issue.

Yet somehow I keep collecting large tools (engine hoists, table saw, metal brake) and have limited space. ---the reason we just moved to 2.5 acres (big garage eventually)

I use a corded 3/8 Dewalt drill to cut holes in thick stuff and a cordless for easy to drill stuff.