PDA

View Full Version : DC controller question, temp seems high

navyflyer72
02-07-2006, 02:58 AM
ok, I have a 327 (bored .060 over). An aluminum be-cool radiator, a MKVIII fan and a DC controller. I have an autometer temp gauge that takes its reading from the top intake temp probe port and the gauge is grounded to an underdash common ground. I have a 180 degree thermostat. The DC controller has jumper pins set at 16, (jumping pins 7-9). When idling the temp gauge will rise to about 200-210 before the fan comes on, I've even seen it go slightly over 210, in traffic it hovers between 190-205 and cruising on the hwy (remember outside air temp in MD right now is about 40 degrees), it will decrease to about 180. This seems high to me, can anyone explain what might be wrong, or why it is doing this? Thanks.

-George

CAMAROBOY69
02-07-2006, 04:30 AM
That seems high to me too. Get ahold of Jabin (gmachinz). I will be doing this install too as soon as I finish my exhaust so I want to make sure I do it right. I have basically the same set up as you do too.

gmachinz
02-07-2006, 07:36 PM
Remember that the sensor probe measures coolant temp via ambient temp. (+/-3 degrees) at the inlet-which is coolant going in through the lower hose. I suspect you have a circulation problem maybe. Your scenario tells me initially that your engine is not getting rid of the hot coolant fast enough. Is your water pump new? What kind is it? Try grounding your gauge to another source. Email me if these things don't help. Does your motor seem to heat up unusually fast given 40-degree temps outside? If so, I'd bet you have a bad water pump. -Jabin

navyflyer72
02-08-2006, 02:17 AM