PDA

View Full Version : Magnacharged LSX in 1st gen

streetk14
01-19-2006, 09:48 PM
The more I look into the LSX motors the more I am amazed with their performance. I have been planning to get a new motor for my '68 for a while, a 434ci gen 1 engine to be exact. But now the LS bug has hit me and I really like the idea of a magnacharged LS1. I have been inspired by Tony's (Nineball) '69.
I'm new to the LSX world, so let me know if I am on/off track with what I want to do. I would like to make about 500 rwhp and torque. Here is what I have in mind:
-low mileage used LS1 motor and T56
-205cc AFR heads with 76cc chambers to lower compression
-Comp cam (high 220's to low 230's duration)
-1 3/4" Hooker headers w/ 3" exhaust
-and of course, the blower
I am trying to figure out how much boost I should run and whether or not I should intercool. Does anyone here have experience with the Magnacharger intercooling system? From what I've seen, it requires a water tank and pump along with a heat exchanger behind the grill area. Tony's car is intercooled but I did not see any of this stuff on his car in the pictures (maybe it's hidden?). Also, can a stock LS1 short block take this kind of power? I'm trying to do this without having to rob a bank, so I'd like to avoid tearing apart the bottom end if I don't have to. Any advice is appreciated. Thanks,
Andy

phoenixdawg
01-20-2006, 06:26 AM
I am in process of getting all the stuff together to make an LS1/4l60e swap into a 68 vert.

I bought a book by Will Handzel that gets in depth about performance upgrades to the LS1 - good book, highly suggest purchasing(can't remember the title though).