PDA

View Full Version : New Member/Gentleman Driver/Got the Pro-Touring Bug now!

Crazy Horse
06-02-2020, 11:00 AM
Hi Guys!
I am a newbie so bear with me...I am here to learn from the experts!!!
I have been around cars all my life (racing, collecting, fixing, restoring and even dealing them -Licensed in TX a few years back...horrible experience, the good ones are like living creatures to me and it was too hard to let them go-).
Anyhow, now, I have been bitten by the Pro-Touring/G-Machine Bug.
I guess I want to build/buy something that is not restricted by a set of rules or Classes (as in the governing bodies of organized racing).
I want to build a Chevy or something in the GM family for a change (I have three Ford race cars). And also leaning more towards a G-Machine with only a few Creature Comforts like A/C.

My First Choice is a '65 or '67 GTO, just because I think they are the coolest and most beautiful Muscle Cars ever made. I know they are not small but I would not be really racing it (just the occasional track day).
Second Choice would be a '66 to '72 Chevelle
Third Choice 1st or 2nd Gen Camaro.
Fourth Choice Nova (around '69).
Fifth Choice...anything that catches my eye in the future...hehe

Minimum Requirements for the build...
1- As a sort of racer, safety is ALWAYS First...so a four to six point Cage and Fuel Cell is a must (also Fire Suppression System). Six Point Harness.
2.- Chassis and Suspension...I like Schwartz Chassis and whatever modern suspension is available for the specific build with coilovers (Reiger or Penske Shocks). It is incredible what a top Shock would do to the dynamics of your set up.
3.- Brakes...we use very different combinations and setups for racing, but for Rally we use PFC Brakes with Endless Brake Pads and they work amazing.
4.- Engine...If I go modern (ECU, Harness, etc), I really like what Mast Motorsports are doing. If I go Old School, I would do Chevy Racing Crate with EFI.