PDA

View Full Version : Welding really thin sheet metal

JustJohn
05-08-2017, 07:22 AM
I am a terrible welder with good welding equipment...

I just bought a new Miller Multimatic 215 and my first MIG project with it was a small 3" x 3" or so patch in the middle of my inner fender where it sits under the battery tray. Followed setup and advice and everything went according to plan. Got the patch cut, formed, and welded in no issues.

I went back to an earlier patch I had done along the leading edge and it was a very different story. Even with the heat cranked as far down as I can get it (just with autoset, I haven't tried freelancing yet), I am still getting blow through. I ended up getting frustrated and put it away for the night to avoid making things worse.

Sorry no pictures yet, but any thoughts on my options here? The material thins out at the leading inner fender edge, where there are mounting holes for the radiator support.

gator68428
05-08-2017, 07:52 AM
Assuming the gas is flowing properly (we've all made that mistake a time or two), cleanliness/surface condition and part prep tie for the next most important things. Rust and/or paint residues make it difficult. Further adding to difficulties is small gaps. If the two pieces are in good contact it helps, any gaps--especially with sheet metal--it gets tough quick. Thirdly, focus the heat on the thicker/cleaner/better condition piece and move towards the thinner piece. Small bursts just to get that little dot of connection is where you have to start sometimes. Good idea just to take a break and re-evaluate. Good luck.

latoracing
05-08-2017, 07:58 AM