PDA

View Full Version : Smoothing firewall question

Kmart78
01-31-2017, 11:57 PM
I'm trying to get the firewall on my 71 camaro stripped and smoothed in prep for paint. I've already built a panel for the passenger side but the drivers side seems to have an awful lot of holes and unused brackets. Can anyone tell me the few holes I need to leave while plugging the ones I won't? The car will get an LS swap with automatic transmission and AAW updated wiring so I don't think I will need the factory hole for the fuse block. Besides the obvious holes I NEED to leave( steering column, wiper motor) what else has to stay? Any help would be greatly appreciated as I am new to this stuff!

dhutton
02-01-2017, 05:58 AM
AAW classic update kit uses the stock fuse block hole so I suggest you do not fill it. You will need the five holes for the brake master.

Don

Kmart78
02-01-2017, 10:07 AM
AAW classic update kit uses the stock fuse block hole so I suggest you do not fill it. You will need the five holes for the brake master.

Don
Thanks, forgot about the master cylinder holes.

woody80z28
03-03-2017, 06:01 PM
I did this too. I studded the steering column and gas pedal holes so I could fill them. I also relocated the wiper motor to behind the fender. I deleted the pass through at the top of the pass side and came through the tunnel instead.

amargari
03-07-2017, 05:11 PM
Below is what I had left after smoothing.

1 Wiper Motor
2 Throttle Cable
3 Brake Booster/Master
4 Clutch Master
5 Steering Column
6 Holes for mounting the gas pedal. (Should have welded studs on the inside)

I moved my fusebox wiring to come out in the cowl behind the fender.

https://static1.pt-content.com/images/pt/2017/03/Underhood2JPG-1.jpg

sweet motion
03-07-2017, 11:50 PM