PDA

View Full Version : Need Help in building the Perfect Suspension for my budget

Andrew McBride
09-17-2004, 08:23 AM
I am looking to build a car with the right stance, but still performs well in handling. As we all know these cars are not the most comfortable as far as the ride goes.
This Car is a 68 Camaro that will be driven on the street. I am building this car for comfort for those long hauls to car shows. Now being a college student my budget has to be a little more thought out. Sure, I would love to order a new wayne due subframe but that will have to wait till after college where my funding will be less of an issue. Don't get me wrong I am not building a car that is thrown together, I am taking my time/saving but wanting to order the right parts. Any input would be great. Thanks, Andrew
Forgot to mention- I am running a small block 350 w.T400 Tranny, C5 corvette brakes.

Here is what I am thinking:
2"drop leaf springs-what brand?
F Sway bar-brand? possibly Hotchkis
upper control arms-what brand for the $, was leaning towards speedtech?
shocks: F and R should I use?
drop coil springs-brand?
Should I just save and buy coil overs, or is it needed?
if so what brand?

dennis68
09-17-2004, 09:09 AM
DSE kinda specializes in early F bodies, I'd use them for the leafs

Leave the stabar alone until you get the rest of the suspension dialed in, then worry about how much bar you need.It is a tuning tool.

Arms are all pretty much the same, I personally like the 30.00 arms from the local circle track supply, but I am real cheap and can make anything work eventually.

If you don't use coil overs buy good shocks, Bilstein are good.

If you want to use coil springs, contact coil spring specailties. They will custom build springs to your spec

coil overs are the ultimate-you'll be best saving and buying some nice QA1's.

rumblee
09-17-2004, 10:02 AM