PDA

View Full Version : LS3 durability on a reasonable budget

another69
04-13-2016, 05:50 PM
Doing an LS3/480 swap into my car and I want it to be able to take lots of abuse while living a long & happy life. Mainly street driving and track days. I'd love a high end forged bottom end and all kinds of exotic parts, but the costs add up real quick so I was thinking about what it would take to make a crate motor like this survive. Please chime in with anything that you see wrong with my "formula":

-LS3/480 crate motor (leave it under 500hp so the crank, rods, pistons should be ok)
-Upgrade pushrods and rockers for durability
-Keep rev limiter at 6500
-Run a dry sump system (looking at an Aviaid option that uses the factory pump for pressure and a 2 or 3 stage belt drive scavenge pump)

I have limited real world experience with LS motors, but from what I have read, heard, and seen online it seems that windage and loss of oil pressure from uncovered pickups are real concerns when these motors are pushed hard. I realize that the dry sump kit is a bit of an oddball on a mainly stock LS3...

Schwartz Performance
04-13-2016, 07:43 PM
Add ARP rod bolts to your list.

Rockers are fine, but upgrade the bearings.
May want to upgrade valve springs, or just make it a maintenance item after a year of racing.

Dry sump is nice, but pretty expensive.. Might just want to do an accusump and an Improved Racing baffle for whatever pan fits your application.

-Dale

raustinss
04-13-2016, 09:08 PM
Yep Id agree, ditch the dry sump idea. Go wet sump, a cam, better bearings and arp studs . You'll have a great motor with decent power numbers

71RS/SS396
04-14-2016, 03:17 AM