PDA

View Full Version : Camber + Caster VS its affects when steering

Bugzilla
02-03-2016, 12:24 PM
I will start off by saying I am no pro when it comes to this stuff but I have tried my best to understand it. I have read up the great write up that Ron did (and I have to say thank you for all the info you have shared) and I get most of it. So I went out to the garage last night and took some measurements and think I came up with some odd number. My measuring wasn't 100% accurate but was pretty close. So here is what I have.

Miata spindles measured at 8° KPI
Caster is set to -8°
Camber is at -1.5°
Toe is at 0°
Unsure of max steering angle in both directions but its more then normal cars

So here is the thing, after reading the write up Ron did, it seems like having the same degree caster and KPI should keep camber the same as the wheels are turning (correct me if I am wrong). So if I start at -1.5° camber and turn the wheel all the way to the right (using passengers side wheel for example), I now have +3° camber. Turning the wheel all the way to the left, I get -3°. Does this seem normal? I understand if I remove some caster then I will move those angle around and say end up at 0° to the right and -6° to the left. But if I remove caster, then caster is less then KPI which is not good? So I guess my main question is, starting at -1.5° camber, am I ending up at good camber when turning? Is there a set value (camber) to start with when the wheels are fully turned? Meaning I should shoot for something like +2° when locked out to the right and -2° to the left? Or is this something that will be based off roll center being specific to my car? Any input from others would be great.

GrabberGT
02-03-2016, 02:00 PM
You are not factoring in the cars roll as its banked in a turn. The inside tire will lose camber.

Bugzilla
02-03-2016, 03:08 PM