PDA

View Full Version : Alignment Settings

Ralph LoGrasso
11-01-2005, 10:12 PM
Perhaps this is a dumb question, but I'll ask it anyway -- Aside from spending hours at the track testing and tuning, or possessing an in-depth knowledge of suspension kinematics, how does one determine ideal aligment settings for their car?

For example, I'm going to be lowering my '01 SS in a month or so, and I'll be aligning it at that time, too. I want to go with something a little more aggressive than stock, but not too aggressive that I'll see uneven tire wear, or other adverse effects. Are there any "general" rules to follow when determing alignment setting, Ie add 2* negative camber to stock, 2* caster, etc. A bit more toe in, out, etc.

I should note that I have no prior experience in aligning cars, and I'll be using a rack to do it, not with hand tools. It won't be lowered much, only 1" or so, and I've also swapped 275/17s for 275/18s, but the OD is the same.

So, any general rules or guidelines to follow? I don't have the stock alignment specs, sorry.

Thanks,

sinned
11-01-2005, 10:28 PM
Guide lines for an aggressively driven street car with an owner who understands tire wear will be sacrificed are something like:

Camber, equal -1.5*
Caster, every car is different, a late model Camaro might run as much as 6*
Toe; always toe-in on a street car, around 3/16" total and measure tread face with a pyrometer to tune accordingly.

Ralph LoGrasso
11-02-2005, 07:56 PM
Thanks for the response, Dennis. I will try to follow those specs when aligning the car. I do not mind some tire wear, as the car is not a DD, I just don't want the inside edges of my tires completely bald in 200 miles or something crazy like that.
Thanks again,

Norm Peterson
11-03-2005, 08:31 AM