PDA

View Full Version : 69 camaro build

JParsons13
10-16-2015, 07:49 PM
I am currently planning a build of a Pro-Touring 69 camaro. I am not a master mechanic so I'm learning as I go. I'm trying to get a lot of what I want done to the car planned be fore I go through with it.

My plans include
- Brand new LS3 motor with supercharger
- disc brakes all around
- upgraded performance suspension

i am not a mechanic by any means but I'm learning. I was wanting to know if anyone could give me thoughts or ideas or any type of feedback on my plans. I have a certain vision for this car and I was it done my way and I know it will take a lot of money and that's why I'm in no big hurry. But please and ideas or thoughts are appreciated. Thanks

cbpldc
10-17-2015, 05:11 PM
I'm not an expert by any means, but I've done a lot of reading on this site. What I've found is that there are a lot of options for "an upgraded suspension". Are you okay with the stock geometry? What do you want to do with this car when you're finished? I've seen a lot of guys upgrade their stock parts, go racing, and decide they want something entirely different to accomplish a goal they simply didn't have when they went at it the first time around.

Have you acquired the car yet? What is your budget? A supercharged LS3 will certainly be a nice mill, but will you go crate, used drop-in, or rebuilt forged internally?

For your front end, will you be simply upgrade the sway bars, control arms and buy some new spindles and C5 brakes? Or will you go with an entirely new subframe?

Lots of questions, and not a lot of answers, but hopefully it will help you determine your direction and budget for this car.

Chris

parsonsj
10-17-2015, 07:30 PM
Welcome, and good luck with your build.

I'd recommend you save the supercharger for later. The LS3 will be a lot of fun already, and you can use the supercharger money for suspension, brakes, or safety equipment.

KB Camaro
10-17-2015, 09:52 PM