PDA

View Full Version : Another 69 Camaro Stock 10 bolt question

cham
10-26-2005, 06:13 PM
Any good estimates on what they will withstand power wise. I should be in the 350/400 hp range now with no posi and all is good so far. What I would like to know is if its worth putting a posi into it or am I on borrowed time, better just buy a 12 bolt.

Unlike some people around here I have a tight budget for my car so not only will it take alot of time to save up for the 12 bolt but it will take away from other areas of need. I dont plan to up the HP very soon. Lots of other issues to deal with first. This is a street driven car with rare runs at the strip, no drag slicks. Maybe good hooking tires but I will not be doing high revs and dumping the clutch.

Thanks!
Edit: Ok, I am new at rear ends and trying to learn. So how do I figure out if I have a 8.2 10 bolt or an 8.5? An 8.5 would be sweet and it seems like I could make that into a stout rear end. I have yet to crack the rear cover open to see what I have.

73z-6sp
10-26-2005, 07:05 PM
What little I have learned is that the 8.2 is junk. Ditch it for a 8.5 10 bolt or go with the 12 bolt or even a 9 inch but only if you are going to put some power to it, otherwise it is a waste. I fell for the "I have to replace it anyway so why not build a 12 bolt" idea. I have had nothing but a PITA since I decided to go 12 bolt. If I had it to do over, I would have bought that 8.5 10 bolt posi when I had the chance...

Look for a 73-75 Nova/Omega/etc for the 8.5 that will bolt right into your car. (I think those are the years) Good luck!

Unless someone has changed the rear in your car, its gonna be a 8.2 but I dont know how to tell by just looking at it.

rob07002
10-27-2005, 11:18 AM
What he said.....

Mkelcy
10-27-2005, 05:23 PM
For rear identification see: http://www.novaresource.org/axle.htm

As a risk taker myself, if money is tight why not run it until it goes, and then do whatever you might decide now to replace it?

MarkM66