PDA

View Full Version : I want to build my own 12 bolt but...

73z-6sp
10-18-2005, 09:49 AM
I have never done this before! I am sick and tired of trying to find someone (shop) that is willing to build it for any reasonable amount of money. Not to mention they all think they are doing you a HUGE favor by doing it for you. I can build it myself if I can learn how. What tools are needed for this job? Is there a book that is recommended? Any help or advice is appreciated. My experience has always been, "do it yourself and save the headache". I want to do as much of my build myself.

ProStreet R/T
10-18-2005, 10:25 AM
Sure you can do it at home, but as for "save the headache" well that doesn't exactly fit the bill here. Building a rear end can be a MAJOR pita.

Tools: Good micrometer (0-1") with various tip extensions and a magnetic base. Used to check pinion depth and backlash on ring gear.

Will need to have a shop press the bearing onto the pinion gear, not something I would recommend just pounding on.

Plan on doing it 3-4 times before you get the lash and mesh pattern correct. I've done gear installs on 9" and it's not too bad but not something I would jump on again anytime soon. If you can find a shop to do it for under $150 in labor go for it.

73z-6sp
10-18-2005, 10:44 AM
Man, If I could find a shop to do it for 150 I WOULD be all over that like white on rice! Im looking at at least twice that for labor. That doesnt even include the cutting/rewelding of spring perches!

MrQuick
10-18-2005, 08:35 PM
Have you tried other shop around your area, you should be able to find something around Phoenix.

73z-6sp
10-18-2005, 10:41 PM