PDA

View Full Version : Who Makes The Best Paint

cj58
04-10-2015, 06:41 PM
I'm going to paint my car myself, I don't have a lot of experience, who makes the best paint, or are they all pretty much the same, or does one need less polishing than the others.

analyte
04-10-2015, 10:05 PM
Simply stated, the guy controlling the gun will have a greater impact on the overall finish than the brand of paint.

mitch_04
04-11-2015, 04:56 AM
Agreed

Schwartz Performance
04-11-2015, 05:11 AM
Yep what they said. Prep is very important and also dont mix brands between stages.

-Dale

rlodad
04-11-2015, 06:56 AM
All true, but nobody answered your question. I am an advanced amateur, and used PPG on my Camaro with great results IMHO. If cost is a big issue, I would try PPGs Omni (their less expensive line) for epoxy primer and Clear and their deltron (top line) for base. Spend the difference on books to learn if necessary, and a good gun and compressor. I used Eastwood's concours gun with good results. Base is the most important. You can fix bad primer shooting and clear with sandpaper and buffing. If your base has tiger stripes, isn't mixed well or is thin, nothing you do except reshooting it will help, and to take down your "booth" to sand and reshoot the base is not a happy thing. Lastly- FOLLOW DIRECTIONS! Fancy paint is well engineered. If you use it exactly as it is designed. Good Luck!

mitch_04
04-11-2015, 08:31 AM
You could just assume the most expensive paint is the best.

However, I'd still like to emphasize that it's the experience that will matter more than the quality of the paint. You could take the best painters, give them the cheapest products, and still have a paint job that looks much better than the inexperienced painter with the best products.

Not to deter you away from painting, not at all. Just saying don't waste your money on higher quality products when, in the end, it probably won't matter as much.