PDA

View Full Version : Best Budget Paint Gun

cj58
03-24-2015, 08:22 PM
I want to paint my car myself, what is the best budget paint gun. Has anyone tried the HF Professional HVLP gun.

jlcustomz
03-24-2015, 08:57 PM
I've used a couple of different HF & other low priced guns for non automotive stuff at work. They all spray paint, but not as well as an expensive gun , won't last as long & may not even have rebuild parts. Not sure what would be the best low budget gun these days, but check with a local automotive paint supplier. I bought a Smart line standard & touch up gun a few years ago for not much over $100, pretty fair for the price.

Cheap guns won't adjust or spray as well, but high end paint jobs get color sanded & buffed anyways, which with extra work can get the final look of the paint where you want it with lower cost equipment.

65 drop top
03-25-2015, 02:00 AM
I've been using a devilbiss starting line. Seems to work ok for me but I'm an amateur. I was able to spray some miscellaneous parts and got the paint to lay down smooth enough that it didn't need to be sanded and buffed.

CampbellshotrodsAZ
03-25-2015, 08:05 AM
I would recommend the Devilbiss Starting Line as a decent cheaper starter gun. The HF gun is just really cheap, and a throwaway gun after a few uses.

rlodad
03-25-2015, 08:43 AM
I painted my 1969 Camaro vert in the garage with PPG Deltron using the Eastwood Concours gun:

http://www.eastwood.com/ew-concours-primer-base-gun-1-2and1-8-tips-2-cups.html