PDA

View Full Version : Relationship between compression ratio and streetability???

KrisHorton
09-14-2004, 07:29 AM
I've been getting mixed answers on this question. One engine builder said that if we run low compression (8.0:1) that the Procharger will have a "light switch" effect and not be as smooth, which would be good for the quarter mile, but crap on a road course. He suggested 9.0:1 and less than 20lbs of boost.

Another builder, namely the one who is helping with our engine, said that we will want lower compression for more street friendly driving and keeping the boost low when not at the track. He is thinking 8.0:1.

Truth be told, I would like to be able to jump in the car and go to the store if I had to. And have it be a nice simple drive. So which ratio would be better and at what boost settings?

I have never driven a forced induction motor before, so take my questions with a grain of salt...I'm still learning.

Hopefully I provided enough info for a good answer! Thanks in advance for any info!

Kris

camcojb
09-14-2004, 08:07 AM
I prefer 9:1 or so on a street deal. No reason to give up the part throttle and off-boost power by dropping to 8:1. In a race application that may be different.

You can run 9:1 and 14 psi and double your power. Not saying to run that much boost unless you plan for it (piston coatings, intercooler and/or water/alcohol injection, etc). But you can make a lot of power and with the improved efficiency of a centrifugal 9:1 is where you want to be on the street.

What are your power goals and with what engine and HP (currently)?
Jody

KrisHorton
09-14-2004, 10:25 AM