PDA

View Full Version : Problem with American Powertrain

fastrods
07-02-2014, 04:17 AM
I am a newbie here, so I will keep this factual and to the point. I ordered a "swap kit" from Bill at American Powertrain 9 weeks ago for a f-body project I am building. I was talked into a T56 Magnum and told this kit would include everything to swap a manual tranny into an automatic car. I was told the kit would ship in 3 to 4 weeks and a 50% deposit was required to get this ordered. I was charged $3,000 for the 50% deposit, the total purchase was $5499. After placing the order I realized I never received an order confirmation or any type of correspondence from this vendor. So at four weeks and still not receiving anything, I began to make phone calls to American Powertrain. At the end of week five, I threatened to dispute the deposit with my credit card and was told that my order was shipping that day. I received my order the following week, it was missing half of the items I was charged for, but American Powertrain charged my credit card the $2,499 balance the day they shipped my order. I called way too many times to discuss here, but ultimately it is now 9 weeks and I still do not have everything I ordered. I did receive most of the items, but have never received the white lightning shifter and the clutch alignment tool, the driveshaft and yoke. I was told the white lightning shifter that I never received was shipped several times over the past 3 weeks, every time I call they are just getting it from the machine shop. I do know I am to measure for the driveshaft after I install the tranny, but after going through this with them I do not trust them to ship it in a timely fashion and consider it missing from the order!