PDA

View Full Version : Asphalt vs Concrete

Gratefuldiver
06-30-2014, 10:43 AM
Last week I really felt like I was making some progress with my auto x driving. The car was handling great and felt like I finally had a set up that worked. That was on the road course at Gateway during the Super Chevy show. Yesterday we had our points event at Gateway on the drag strip parking lot. I ran the same set up and it felt like I took a couple of steps back. I couldn't hardly get through a hard sweeper without the ass end wanting to kick out. I adjusted the Vari's a couple clicks up in the back but it didn't help. I was also having a problem with the left rear tire rubbing on the inside to the point it actually took a few small chucks out of the edge of the tire when I was real hard in a corner. Im sure that has a little to do with having a C-Clip rear and tires on the edge of being to big, but its the first time Ive actually taken off rubber. Im still really new to Auto X so is asphalt just harder to drive on then concrete? I watched these other cars (sport compact's) zip right through almost 10 sec faster then me in my 72 GTO. Its almost a little discouraging lol. This is my best run yesterday, http://youtu.be/HcvwUlrMNh0 This is from last weekend http://youtu.be/0IZZ9bdHHZw

Sorry I don't have a mount that lets me recorded the rear wheel so those videos may be of no help to figure out my issue. I know a lot of the issue is me but even at that there are novice out there running 5-6 sec plus better then me in a 4th Gen Camaro

SSLance
06-30-2014, 11:49 AM
Couple things I see... First I'm pretty certain the road course is asphalt as well so the actual surface probably isn't that different between the two spots. Visually there is a HUGE difference though.