PDA

View Full Version : Suspension 101 please?

L_O_O_M
06-28-2014, 05:35 AM
I'm new to all this fabricating and custom suspension...etc so I need some help please. First off I did search, but for the life of me I can't seem to find the right information.

I am looking at buying an old Mercedes Benz w108, but I want to do custom suspension...etc. I will need to get custom springs and shocks maybe coilovers if they will work. What I would like to know is, how do you determine what shocks to use? I know you measure compressed length and uncompressed length..etc but do they come with different dampening force? and a lot of shocks or coilovers have different ways of mounting to the shock tower. Can you make adapter mounts if you have a shock you want to use but they mount differently?

Schwartz Performance
06-28-2014, 07:06 AM
You can mount them however you please- they just need to be strong mounts.
As far as the shocks, you'd want to get at least single adjustable ones for unknown applications. The spring rate is more important since that's what will determine how stiff the car is overall. Bigger sway bars , new tires and new shocks are the basics in better handling. Not sure what you're looking to accomplish by doing a "custom suspension" but if you're just adding coilovers that's not much of a custom suspension.
How old is the Mercedes? If it's really outdated and you have good fabrication skills then I might suggest grafting suspension on from a different car, as their may be flaws in the factory suspension design.

I don't know enough about Mercedes to tell you anything for certain but gives ya something to think about :)

-Dale

L_O_O_M
06-28-2014, 07:19 AM