PDA

View Full Version : "Sloper"

Porterbuilt
09-21-2005, 08:03 PM
Question for all you TIG guys... What is the "sloper" setting used for? I have a Thermal Dynamics Thermal Arc 300GTSW Machine. I have been doing fine without it for the last three years, but every now and again I wonder about it.

Matt@RFR
09-21-2005, 08:32 PM
Do you have a sequencer? If so, the "sloper" would be used to control the amount of time the machine ramps from initial amperage to welding amperage, and then the amount of time to go from welding amperage to final amperage.

If you don't have a sequencer, than I have no idea. I was shocked at how little information is on the 'net for your machine! Especially with it's little brother (T/A 185) being so popular these days.

If you had bought a Miller, you could download the owner's manual directly from their website. :poke:

Speaking of chocolate cake, do you not have the manual?

Porterbuilt
09-21-2005, 08:50 PM
Matt-
I had to special order the manual... paid $38 and waited for a month to get it. I was extremely disappointed with the lack of information provided in the manual, it just showed me where the sloper adjustment was... how helpful!
I bought the machine from one of my customers... it was brand new in the box, and came with a Miller Coolmate, torch, and bottle.

Matt@RFR
09-21-2005, 08:58 PM
So no sequencer I take it. Ok, what, if anything, is this "sloper" associated with, either in the manual or on the front panel?

Porterbuilt
09-22-2005, 07:57 AM
Matt-
It's on the front panel, right next to the pulser function. It is a toggle switch. Quoting from the manual "When in the off position the sloper is inactive. Selecting the on position activates the Sloper. Selecting the Spot position activates the spot welding timer. The slope sequence and spot modes are activated by a remote on/off switch connected to the 8-pin receptacle. See the section on slope sequence."