PDA

View Full Version : "Ram Jet" injection to 383 & Fast Burn heads

HotRod4PaPa
09-21-2005, 10:28 AM
I am new to EFI, but it is something I think is worth installing on a street rod project of mine. I have a complete "Ram Jet" unit that I want to use on a 383 with the GM "Fast Burn" heads and a Crane hydraulic roller cam(224/230 @ .050 and .509/.528 lift). I have a Commander 950 ECM with GM multi point injection harness (950-101) that I want to use rather than reprogramming the MEFI3 unit. I have a carbureted, 15 gal. gas tank(baffled, but no "in tank" pump reservoir tray). I can retrofit an "in tank" pump.
Are adapters available to adapt to the Ram Jet IAC and TPS?
Will not having a reservoir tray in the tank cause serious problems beyond the hesitation created from the pump momentarily starving for fuel when cornering?
What size rigid inlet and return lines, and fittings should I use and where can I get them? I guess I should also ask what size pump to run. Tanks offers two sizes (155 lph & 190 lph) and two brands (Walbro and AC). Is one better than the other? I think this has the same injector as the LT1.
Does the fast burn head have too large an intake runner (210 cc)to make a good, responsive engine for street driving when using an 700R4 automatic?
Any help you guys can give me will be greatly appreciated. Thanks

Fuelie Fan
09-21-2005, 11:44 AM
I don't know where to get adaptors, but you should be able to find the connectors in the junkyard. I thought the IAC connector was the same.
If the car is not a track car, all you have to do is keep the fuel level up and you'll be fine without baffling.
3/8 supply, 5/16 or 3/8 return
I assume you mean Walbro, not Waldo? Walbro produces very good pumps. I would think that AC does also, but i've never used them. Fuel pumps is one of those industries where there's probably 20 different name brands, but maybe 3 or 4 actual pump manufacturers. The rest is just fancy cases and different name stamps.