PDA

View Full Version : OH NO a newbie with questions lol

Motorbreath
04-13-2014, 09:14 PM
I'm currently trying to source a mid 70's c10 to go the Pro Touring route. As the title says I'm a newbie but I think I have a decent idea of what I want to do to start. It will be a fairly low buck/low tech build to start. I'd like to do it in stages and eventually have something along the lines of the ridetech trucks that run autocross.

My thoughts to start are:
1 Box the frame front to rear
2 Box the stock control arms up front to stiffen them
3 Upgrade to urethane bushings everywhere
4 Sway bar from a 1 ton
5 Axle flip
6 Frame notch for the flip
6 drop spindles and springs
7 appropriately shorter shocks or relocated mounts.
8 WIDE rubber on all 4 corners.

Stage 2? Can I call it stage 2? lol
1 Air ride front and rear
1.5 tubular A-arms.
2 2x2 tubing as a "ladder bar" type link for the rear air. ( should also eliminate needing a rear sway when coupled with #3)
3 ah the long awaited 3, axle truss to keep the rather solid rear setup from damaging the axle.
4 watts link with the pivot at the center line of the rear axle.
5 Nicer shocks
6 WIDER RUBBER/wheel tubs (Eventually I'd like to be in the 305-355 range on tire width.

Yes I know I've not mentioned jack about the driveline/engine. I know how to make power I just need some help with this new applying power in the turns concept. I'm used to the ole straight line stuff.

I've considered a 3rd stage being a vette front suspension swap. But I think I can probably get what I want from the 2nd stage.

I currently have a frankland quick change rear with wide 5 hubs that I was considering using in this project. Would give me a strong rear, disc brakes, AGGRESSIVE locker and the ability to run a high gearing on the street for daily driver use then switch to a lower gear for digging out of the corners.

Thoughts? Suggestions? Winning Lottery numbers?

RobNoLimit
04-14-2014, 07:43 AM