PDA

View Full Version : US average salery.

Olav
12-28-2013, 05:33 AM
Here in Norway we read a lot about the problems with your econemy. We was sitting at a family party and talking. What is normal salery for a mechanic, teacher and shop/ store worker. What is average cost for a family house with garage ?
Olav

mitch_04
12-28-2013, 06:17 AM
I'm a mechanic and I also sell parts at our auto parts store. I pull in roughly 30K a year with 8 years experience...well...8 years at this shop. My cost of living for water, electricity, and house payment is roughly $600. I'm not including things like cell phone, internet, etc because those aren't really "necessary". I live in a small town where houses and rent are very inexpensive. My house payment for a 2 bedroom/1 bath with single garage and large yard is half what rent in Chicago was for a single bedroom apartment (and it wasn't a nice one). I also am in the National Guard which brings in around an extra 4K a year, and a city councilman but it's my first year so I don't know what my salary will be yet. I just started restoring cars on the side but all the profit from that goes straight into tools and toys, so I don't really keep track. If you were a mechanic that owned your own shop you could pull in much more money, but your expenses would be higher as well.

Hope some of that helped answer your question.

Jody SS
12-28-2013, 06:20 AM
Every state and city is different. Value depends on location. Value is more when homes are near jobs, nice water frontage and big College cities. Less value when fewer jobs in area, low income neighborhoods.

vintageracer
12-28-2013, 06:25 AM
There is no "Normal" Salary for mechanics or anyone else for that matter in the US. Many factors such as skill level of mechanic, city/state location, type of vehicles serviced, and the quality level of the service shop. There are lot's of shadetree/backyard mechanics in the US along with highly skilled mechanics at top notch shops.