PDA

View Full Version : Is this what we look like??

shmoov69
12-03-2013, 06:41 AM
DOOH!!:doh:

http://oppositelock.jalopnik.com/this-is-****ing-brilliant-and-scary-is-this-what-we-1464727669

Rod
12-03-2013, 11:31 AM
yes it is, during holiday parties here in the Bay Area I'm surrounded by Techno heads and the topic of work always comes around sooner or later, I often stop talking about cars and racing at parties because most listeners eyes just glaze over

mmosley
12-03-2013, 12:00 PM
I went to a rather dull party to celebrate one of the kids at my son's Tae Kwon Do school getting his black belt... as interesting as TKD can be, sitting around talking about it was not my idea of an evening. Food was good. I am an engineer, not a big people person, none of the others at the party gave me the impression of being technically oriented. Started talking with a guy who was a doctor, general practice, seemed fairly sharp. I started with the standard joke that they call it "practicing" medicine because no on has really figured it out and they are all still learning. Anyway, nice guy and all. I told him I wouldn't talk to him about medicine if he promised not to ask me work related questions. I asked what else he did... he said something about race cars, road courses, SCCA... No one bothered us in our little corner of the living room after that.

silvermonte
12-05-2013, 10:19 PM
pretty funny read and very true

19sixtynine
12-06-2013, 04:37 PM
Pretty funny follow up to this awesome story!

http://oppositelock.jalopnik.com/what-a-car-enthusiast-looks-like-the-followup-1477128694/1477452173/@320b

snappytravis
12-06-2013, 05:50 PM
My wife is a Pharmacist, I get drug to those yuppy Christmas partys, I always pray there will be some gearhead there. Man I hope we don't sound that bad, lol
That is a good story.

silvermonte
12-06-2013, 08:43 PM
That follow up is awesome.

Gratefuldiver
12-07-2013, 06:22 AM