PDA

View Full Version : New Guy from Mississippi - good read and PICTURES!

4eyedconekiller
09-17-2013, 02:55 PM
Hey all,

I've been lurking around on and off, watching some of the awesome builds, wishing I could do the same at some point!

I'm a later-in-life nursing student, but a lifetime gearhead. I grew up handing wrenches to my old man, and was blessed to spend some time working on a few with him over the years. I've never done any kind of crazy build, but have learned a lot from what I have messed with over the years. *Disclaimer* if you don't mind a read, this is gonna be a little long, lol. If you aren't much of a reader, check out the Pictures at the end of the post.

I've got a long term project that I've been tinkering with for the last several years, and it looks like I'll be a while longer. It really isn't "Pro-Touring" by some standards, but I'm gonna try and make a newer representation of it. Here we go!

I have an '86 Mustang GT that I bought basically stock 7-8 years ago. I planned to use it as my daily and weekend toy, but wound up with a good daily and started buying parts. Little did I know how much of a snowball I was about to get rolling, lol. Since then, I've been able to do my first brake upgrade, my first paint job, basic suspension setup, and and learn the joys of owning an antique - squeaks, rust and all. It has some serious sentimental value, as it was my first car to really wrench on, and my now late Dad and I spent many hours messing with it over the years. I really put it together to be a great handling street car, that I could take to the strip for some fun. It's been a lot of fun, and I have huge plans, but I'll get to that in a minute - here's the scoop on it so far:

Mod List:
STOCK engine - never even had the valve covers off!
Bassanni EL Ceramic Coated Headers
Pypes X Pipe
Magnaflow catback (currently dumped)
Harris Speed Works Nitrous Kit (currently pilled ~150 shot)

Suspension/Brakes:
MM CC Plates
Koni SA struts and shocks