Enter your username:
Do you want to login or register?
  • Forgot your password?

Login / Register

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
      Country Flag: United States

Crate engine...what company??

I am looking to buy a close to turn key 383 crate for my 84 Monte SS. looking for around 400HP. I have been searching for a while now and have it narrowed down to a few companies that seem like they would be good to work with. I have never been a huge fan of buying things i cant see first, so needless to say making this kind of investment "online" is nerve wracking..

I am a novice so aside form installing the motor and doing some tuning I am not interested in doing much of the build myself. I am leaning toward a company like Ross automotive, Engine Factory or Pro Performance which runs, tunes and dynos the engines once they are complete versus a blueprint engine or the like.

Any input is greatly appreciated.

This would be my recommendation: zz4
      Tom

trailers are for boats and broke stuff.

GMPerformance Parts, yes. Fast burn 385, No

GMPP's zz383 is a badass little engine. It makes your power number easily at 425 horsepower. Just add your favorite vortec style intake, carb, and distributor and you are on your way.

I buy them at gmperformancemotor.com call and talk to Chris.

66 looks and no other responses???

Don't base your decision on price. Do your research on the builder and stay as close to home as possible.
      Todd

X2 on the stay close to home...that is a good call.

I went with blueprint, they advertise an awesome warranty
      68 Camaro RS twin turbo
      https://www.pro-touring.com/threads/...d-Intent-V-2-0

1993 Toyota Supra 6768 Built Single Turbo

Slow Lifted Jeep No TURBO :(

Randal F

Blueprint makes one of the worst engines ive ever seen. Crooked cams, cranks, decks, and bits of metal in the oil passages.

on the other end of things the Year One engines are hard to beat for the money:

http://www.yearone.com/serverfiles/f...ain2.asp?cat=P