Enter your username:
Do you want to login or register?
  • Forgot your password?

Login / Register

Pro Comp aluminum BBC heads any good?

I am very new to building chevy engines so i am asking if anyone has used these aluminum heads for a BBC?I can get what seems like a great deal on a bare set ($700)Here are the specs that the dealer gave me...They look to be closed chamber, rectangle port, 115 cc chambers 320cc intake, raised exhaust ports, cut for 2.25 intake and 1.88 exhaust valves, 11/32 valve guides, out of the box they flow 360cfm intake 240 exhaust, I am wanting to build a good street/strip 454 and want to use these heads. Do these seem like good heads or has anyone used them?

I would avoid them. There's been a lot of interest in these because they're so cheap...but there's a reason they're so cheap!

They're a lot lighter than your typical Brodix or Dart, which should tell you about the quality of the metal. I looked at them at a swap meet a few weeks ago and was not impressed.

I've also read that they need a lot of work to be set up correctly, so by the time they get machined, you're close to the price of an Edelbrock or GM Performance parts head.

And finally, I'd call that 360 cfm flow number bs...I know a CNC chamber Brodix Race Rite doesn't flow that much or maybe even some AFR's.

Unfortunately, a good, cheap BBC aluminum head just doesn't exist. Your most affordable, quality choice is probably the Edelbrocks or Canfields...Competition Products has great prices on Canfields, but their raised exhaust port can be a header nightmare depending on your car.

Hope this helps,
      Jason

Country Flag: United States
      Quote Originally Posted by moparguy