Enter your username:
Do you want to login or register?
  • Forgot your password?

Login / Register

Page 1 of 23 1 2 3 4 5 6 11 ... LastLast

Bugzilla - Mid Engine Madness

Thanks to Photobucket, they screwed up mostly all threads. I have gone through mine and done a temporary fix. Once the pictures stop working again, I will do a permanent fix.

Well looks like it is time to post up about my project. This has been a 3 year long project so far but should be finished up in a few months. My main goal for the car is to be drive-able on the street and shine on the track. This is not going to be a show car. More like a dedicated track car that looks decent. I myself have never built a car from the ground up, so this is a first for me. I have restored many older cars, done LS swaps, built many engines, and done minor fab work. I am not a professional welder and do not have many fab specific tools like a bender and notcher. All the work was done in my garage by me, with the exception of tube bending.

Details

- 1970 Bug body (the only VW part left on the car)
      - Wide fiberglass fenders (6 inches wider in the rear, 5 inches in the front)
      - Independent suspension on all 4 corners
      - Using Miata spindles front and rear
      - Double adjustable coilovers
      - Full square tube frame
      - Getrag F23 trans (5 speed)
      - Supercharged Chevy Ecotec powered (estimating 400hp)
      - Big brakes and sticky tires

In the beginning with a bone stock Bug

Removed pretty much everything

Added in the new frame. I lost all pictures of building the frame and installing it, so this is all you get

Engine and trans about to go in

Engine and trans went in through the door

All boxed in

How it is now

And it runs!

https://youtu.be/v0590RpY-ro
      1970 VW Bug - Just your average mid engine Bug
      Track toy - 06 Evo - E85 and lots of boost
      Newest track toy - 2021 Supra

Country Flag: United States
      Hey!