PDA

View Full Version : 1965 Pontiac Tempest/GTO Clone

Karch
09-19-2012, 04:08 PM
Guys, after close to 25 years of ownership, it is time for me to part with my '65 Pontiac.

I bought the car (Tempest) as a fun little project, wanting to drive out to the track, an hour away, run 12's, then drive home. At the time, not too many were actually doing it, let alone on the budget that I had (part-time work, college, etc.).

Through the years, it's has a 326-2V, 350-2V, and 455-4V. It came with a ST300, now has a nice TH400...

Along the way, I got a degree, job, and change in marital status. I decided to shift gears a bit and put a GTO hood on, and then this and that.

All in all, it's a good car. Very little rust, but does need someone to spend a weekend or two to clean it up and such. I recently had a new windshield installed, and while I feared the pinchweld was going to be rusted, I was pleasantly surprised it is solid. I have pictures of that as well. Also, the rear glass was reset last year to take care of some weeping, so that's all good (no rust in floors).

Photobucket is having problems right now, but I will upload pictures as best I can, when I can. I am going away for a couple of days, so the bulk of them will probably be needed to upload then.

I am selling it now because I just don't have any time, with the wife, two kids, and work keeping me busy. I don't have a garage to keep it in, and I am going to need to step aside from the hobby for awhile. Actually, I have away from the Pontiac community for awhile.

Also, in the area I live, traffic is absolutely horrendous, and it was even before this 3-4 year interstate project right near my house.

Here are some specs:

Body
1965 Tempest 2-door coupe (not hardtop), GTO clone, all original glass, doors, quarters, floors, trunk, left fender replaced (due to 1994 Northridge earthquake), hood replaced (factory GTO hood, not re-pop),

Engine