PDA

View Full Version : Timing Suggestions for best Performance

Dons67
06-03-2011, 09:20 AM
I'm a bit of a rookie when it comes to specifics so I usually research the site for the right direction and I need some help with the proper timing on my fresh engine re-build (or at least a good place to start)

he's what I put together:

350 - .40 bore with JE forged flat top pistons and is running a 400 crank

Brodix Aluminum Heads 102100
70 cc chamber - 200cc intake runner - 2.020 in intake valve with a 1.600 exhaust - max lift .575 in

Lunati Cam and Lifters, Hydraulic Flat Tappet, Duration 268/276, Lift .489/.504,

1.50 ratio Aluminum Roller Rockers

RPM Air Gap Intake

Holley 750

Using a stock HEI distributor with the Acell Super Coil nice plug wires and the E3 plugs in the gap that Brodix recommended for the heads.

I know I could have went a lot more aggressive on the cam but wanted to keep it more road friendly and as built it should be an animal between the 1500-5500 rpm range.

What is the best way to get the timing perfect? And where is the best place to start? Right now it runs fine for a bit then when she gets up to operating temperature she seams to bog down.

Thanks in advance for the help,
Don

John Wright
06-03-2011, 09:28 AM
I would start with 36° total timing, all in by 2900-3000 rpm. You may be able to try a few more degrees but 36° is a fairly safe place to start with 93 octane and mild compression.

Dons67
06-03-2011, 09:40 AM
i've read that most advances will push 16-18* of advance so should i start out with 18* BTDC when I set the timing at idle without the vac plugged in? that seams like a lot.

John Wright
06-03-2011, 10:49 AM
Most likely you will have to work with the mechanical and vac timing to get it all worked out....stock HEI stuff can have crazy timing curves that end up with 54° or more total while cruzing.

Dons67
06-03-2011, 11:07 AM