PDA

View Full Version : Rear end problems??

Steelrat
08-01-2010, 06:31 PM
Took the car out for a spin today and a new issue, oh joy. When shifting the 700R4 from 3 to 2 or 2 to 1 when not under load and low speed down shifting I get a big clunk in the rear end. One time when shifting when not under load, just coasting and going 3rd to 2nd and back to 3rd a few times listening for the clunk it seemed like the rear gears would not mesh, I got a bucking clunk clunk then it went away and engaged. Also when turning ( mostly left) it feels like I am driving over a rough surface, like gravel. Trans was serviced 2 weeks ago. 100%. U joints front and back replaced 2 months ago. Rear is full of fluid. Would adding more gear additive resolve, or drain all fluid and put in new? Current fluid is a year old. Broken spider gears or worn positraction clutches? I have no experience in rear/diff work. Any advice on assessing this?

Thanks

big gear head
08-02-2010, 02:59 PM
What rear end do you have and what differential is in it? Do you have leaf springs? What type of traction devices do you have?

Steelrat
08-02-2010, 03:09 PM
eaton posi
leaf springs
slide a links

rohrt
08-03-2010, 05:17 AM
Kinda sounds like an issue I had with my rear. I didn't get the pinion preload correct when I put my rear together, and would get a very loud clunk when I would accelerate or decelerate. I didn't have a gravel road feel when turning though.

Steelrat
08-03-2010, 12:33 PM
Kinda sounds like an issue I had with my rear. I didn't get the pinion preload correct when I put my rear together, and would get a very loud clunk when I would accelerate or decelerate. .
Hmm, I wonder if my rear shifted and threw out the pinion angle. I was out last week and the car hooked real hard on nice new black asphalt, I thought I felt a big clunk in the back as it hooked. I have checked leaf spring mounts front and back, tranny mount/crossmember and engine mounts. All are A OK.

rohrt
08-03-2010, 12:46 PM