PDA

View Full Version : 67-69 Firebird/Camaro

cdhc10
12-28-2009, 10:09 AM
Has anybody used the shell of a firebird to build them a camaro? Im relatively new to the camaros and was wondering if everything was exact other than looks?

av8or32
12-28-2009, 10:33 AM
I have a 69 Firebird and there are a whole lot of differences. Back in the 60's the divisions of GM were competing with each other so even though the body style is similar, Pontiac wanted to separate itself from Chevy so they had their own motors, rear ends, steering, ignition switches, interior designs and so forth. I've found alot of this stuff out the hard way. If you want a Camaro then do youself a big favor and start with one. I'd love to see another Firebird on the road though and you'll stand out. I recently went to a pretty big car show in Ft Worth and I saw about 1 bird for every 50 or so Camaros. I actually didn't see a single 69 Firebird at all. I do love the Camaro and we could never have too many.

Smock67
12-28-2009, 10:41 AM
Dude if you start with a Firebird keep it a Firebird. No sense in changing your car that much. If you want a camaro start with one would definitely be much cheaper in the end.

mroth
12-28-2009, 10:51 AM
I had a 67 Camaro and had a 67 Firebird. The shell is similar. The rear is different but I believe that you could put a rear body panel and it would weld up OK. The partial quarters should fit in place also. I had an extra door from the bird and put it on the Camaro and the lines seemed to match up pretty well although I had it reskinned. The Firebird rearend had a traction bar on the passenger side welded on to it. you would have to do something to the body to make that setup fit. I believe the front subframe would work but you would need different motor mounts because the pontiac motors set back towards the firewall more. SO if the body already needs rear quarters then you might need to replace only the taillight panel to make it the same.

Mike

cdhc10