PDA

View Full Version : Lower front control arm is not an A-Arm

HellTriX
08-24-2004, 04:43 PM
Ok I guess this is a new forum for you guys and I couldn't quite find what I was looking for so I will make this my first question post :)

Front of car, my B-Body has upper A-arms but the lower control arm is not an a-arm. Its just a connection to the frame from the spindal then it has a bar that connects from the spindal side to the front of the car frame at about a 40 degree angle (not sure of what its called as I am still new to suspension).

Can someone tell me the pro's & cons of this type of suspension?
I am trying to determine if I can still use a modified geometry upper arm without the lower link changing geometry too much?

Depending on the answers I been considering modifying the frame myself to accept more common upper and lower control A-arms. I also noticed while reading one of my 3 magazines (hot rod, car craft, chevy high performace) that a mustang in one of these mags was turning into a pro touring and it used the same lower control arm with support bar setup I am discribing so I assume from that it may not be all that bad?

Thanks
-TriX-

MrQuick
08-24-2004, 06:07 PM
what year and what type? B body GM or B body Mopar? Cant seem to remember what the GM caled it...similar to Fords.

ZZ430
08-24-2004, 06:31 PM
Strut rods.

They have been used on everything from early Chevy II's to Mustangs as you mentioned.

They are how you adjust caster.

Not the best setup, but there were millions made.

I'd say cut the frame off at the firewall and graft on a later clip.

David Pozzi
08-24-2004, 09:58 PM
I think tha'ts called a torsion rod or maybe strut rod type suspension. The threaded rod adjusts caster if I remember right.
The front frame mount for the rod needs a spherical bearing on it to control movement, also the inner pivot needs a spherical bearing.