PDA

View Full Version : Soda blasters= Eastwood vs. Harbor Freight

gateman
05-17-2009, 09:08 AM
Are there any major differences in the quality of Eastwood soda blaster, (the $300 110lb. version) versus the same size at my local
Harbor Freight?? Any body use either or both?? I am a little weary of Harbor Freight since most of there tools are total junk.. However, a soda blaster is a simple product... Any advice???? Thanks, Mark....

Rhino
05-17-2009, 09:24 AM
I have no experience with the HF soda blasters, although I will say I did pick up a pressure media blaster that I'm extremely pleased with. The only thing I wasn't really happy with was the trigger mechanism/gun. After a trip to the local autobody supply store I had a higher quality gun and an excellent blaster.

Jake616
05-17-2009, 09:39 AM
How often do you plan on using it?

You do get what you pay for in blasting equipment, but if its only for a few time thing to get you ahead in your project and not a constant useage for something like commercial use....you would be fine with the cheaper route.

gateman
05-17-2009, 11:38 AM
it just for personal use on my own cars.. I dont want the cheapest product more like light commercial use. Would like to get a good gun / deadman valve (whatever it is called).. I will use it alot, but just for my own stuff.
Harbor Frieght just scares me with some of the junk they sell..

CRCRFT78
05-17-2009, 04:08 PM
Harbor Frieght just scares me with some of the junk they sell..

I think that pretty much sums it up right there.

Rhino
05-17-2009, 04:15 PM
I think that pretty much sums it up right there.
Out of curiosity, have you ever used one of these blasters? If so, what do you find lacking in it? My biggest complaint currently would only have to do with the base it comes with.
Media blasting isn't rocket science, nor does it require an extremely elaborate set up. Use good quality media fitting for your needs and you'll end up with good results.