PDA

View Full Version : Will I be miserable cutting metal?

pitstain
05-13-2008, 09:19 AM
I am embarking on a big project, big because it is my first time fabricating, and because it is at my friends house and I need to get done in a reasonable timeframe.

I will be doing a full airride install on my 2002 Lightning, and fabbing a 3-link with a watts in the rear.

I have a bunch of 3/16" and 1/4" plate steel for brackets and tabs, and .250 wall dom for the links and c-nothces.

Welding is covered with my recent purchase of a Miller 180 with spoolmate, but cutting is a different story.

What I have so far is as follows.

A coule of harbor freight 4 1/2" angle griders with a couple dozen cut off wheels, grinding wheels, and flap discs. Also a electric die grinder that seems pretty robust.

A HF laser guided jigsaw and a bunch of various metal cutting blades for it.

A sawzall, and a new craftsman belt/disc combo sander, as well as a fairly small craftsman drill press.

Will I be ok with what I have or do I need to break down and spend my hydroboost money on a H/V convertible bandsaw?

Thanks guys,

Ian Schwartz

rohrt
05-13-2008, 11:33 AM
I don't think you will be to bad off with what you have. Most of the tools you have are better for sheet metal work then 1/4 steel but can still be used.

One of thoes metal chop saws may be better for what you are doing.

toxicz28
05-13-2008, 01:24 PM
You should do fine with what you have. A cutting torch, or plasma cutter would make the job quicker, but it isn't a necessity. Keep your hydroboost money for your hydroboost.

pitstain
05-13-2008, 03:26 PM
Good thing, I just ordered up the hydroboost from Frank @ Prodigy....

Thanks guys,

Ian

toxicz28
05-14-2008, 02:15 PM
Depending on "where" in the metro NY area you are, mark out your cuts, and we can get together and cut them with my torch. You bring the beer! :Alchy:

Jim Nilsen
05-25-2008, 06:54 AM