PDA

View Full Version : A-Body Spindle Brake Combo Info

rockyday
03-21-2008, 07:38 PM
Hi,

I have a oval track stock car, square tube frame and a second gen Camaro front clip. At present time I have an after market spindle, but rules have changed to an OEM spindle only. Most cars here are using the big Impala spindle and rotor combo. I want to use the A-body 2 piece spindle since I have a rare set of 8 degree 442 spindles. My question is this: is there a 5x5 bolt pattern rotor combo that will bolt up to this spindle directly? Someone said possibly that the 73 to 77 Chevelle spindles would work and they had a set that were redrilled to 5x5. I am also thinking that since I use a 5 inch offset wheel, that the bolt on steering arm would give me more tie rod tire clearance than the one piece Impala spindle. Thanks in advance. This is a great site.

86Cutlass383SR
03-21-2008, 08:31 PM
I know some of the Impalas, Caddies, Buicks, etc used a 5x5 rotor. I'm not sure if the bearing sizes are compatible with your spindle. If memory serves me right, there are some guys using the B body spindle and run a 12" big brake swap and then run a 12" 1LE Camaro rotor (5x4.75). So...with that being said....and I'm no authoritive on this....just may work.

Doug

Marcus SC&C
03-22-2008, 08:07 AM