PDA

View Full Version : Looking to give my car some custom flames

f355bird
01-31-2005, 08:10 PM
Im a newb here and also fairly new to the painting world. But i have been looking around the forum and have seen a lot of gifted people so i figured if anyone could help me it would be yall. Here goes I have an 87 pontiac firebird that i am going to paint black as the base coat but i also want to do some flames. I stoped by the local paint supply house and was looking through the HOK book and saw a Ice blue pearl paint chip in the book. Thought it had a really nice shade of blue and thought it would look really cool turned into some flames. The paint chip was a lil decieving i have been reading it is more along the lines of a ghost image so if i did it into flames u would only be able to see them in direct sunlight. Now i want some opinions well this work ok by itself as flames on black paint, Or should i use another color with it. Should i outline it with a pinstripe. Is there maybe another blue like a paint this color that might be easier to work with. I was also thinking maybe painting the ca black with silver flames and shooting the blue pearl over the silver. I am not necesairly wanting ghost flames but something to catch peoples eyes at a car show. As for experience i would say i am a novice i have a fair amount of knowledge on preping and doing the paint work but havent done a hole lot of painting (lil seat time) Any suggestions?

BRIAN
01-31-2005, 08:42 PM
That is exactly what that pearl will do for you, give ghost flame appearance. Base car in black, tape off flames and spray coats of clear mixed with pearl, then pull off and clear entire car. The pearls get more intense with each coat so be careful. Do a spray out first to check what you like. 2 coats depending on mix ratio should be more than enough. Good luck.

Happyfunballs
02-01-2005, 06:36 AM