PDA

View Full Version : Replacing car battery

tones2SS
01-18-2007, 08:54 AM
Hi guys/gals.
I want to replace the stock battery in my '99 Camaro SS. I do not drive it much and have to recharge it all the time. Is it as easy as it seems by just unhooking the terminals and dropping the new one in?!!?
If someone could walk me through the steps one by one, I would really appreaciate it. Thanks!!!

TPI Monte SS
01-18-2007, 04:28 PM
Just disconnect the negative (black, -) terminal first, then the positive (red, +). Undo the battery hold-down and pull the battery out. Install is just the opposite; hook the positive first, then negative.

tones2SS
01-18-2007, 05:13 PM
THANK YOU!!!!
I have never done this before and don't want to mess my car up by just replacing the battery.
This shouldn't affect my pcm at all would it?
Who makes a good battery? I was thinking SEARS Diehard Gold Series?
I appreciate the info.:git: :git:

rockdogz
01-18-2007, 05:24 PM
WARNING - This will erase your radio presets!!
:drive2:

Go with Optima... They have 'em at Costco...

TPI Monte SS
01-18-2007, 09:13 PM
WARNING - This will erase your radio presets!!
:drive2:

Go with Optima... They have 'em at Costco...

Good point, if you have the factory radio with the Theftlock enabled, I hope you know what the code is. :) And I second the motion for an Optima. I have one in my Cherokee and that truck cranks and starts just the same whether it's 10 degrees outside and snowin' like hell or 75 and sunny. Great battery for the $$!

tones2SS
01-19-2007, 08:16 AM
I'm not sure what you mean?
Do you mean the radio will not work anymore if I swap out the battery?
Thanks for your help guys!!!

TPI Monte SS
01-19-2007, 10:59 AM