PDA

View Full Version : 700r4 rebuild

Footjoy
11-22-2006, 08:31 AM
Well I have been working on cars for 40 years(not professionally) and I fugure I'm not worth anything til I rebuild and automatic trans.
So I have a 700 and I am going to rebuild it with modifications. So does anybody know of a kit I can buy with servos bands disc and what ever else I need? I know you think I'm crazy. I started doing it myself and unfortunately I will finish working on cars myself.
1. any tips for this adventure
2. Things to watch out for
3. What brand parts are better than others.
4. What are biggest mistake made on these.

Thanks for any help.
I live in KC if anybody wants to help:rolleyes:

Footjoy

Pollyss
11-22-2006, 11:12 AM
I started doing a little research for you all ready... I burned the 3-4 clutches out of mine, so I've been searching for stuff, too. I'd suggest staying away from A-1 in Lawrence...they've built the 700 I have several times, and my pickup has maybe 300 hp.

I just talked to a guy at Pro-Built http://www.700r4l60e.com (http://www.700r4l60e.com%29), and he suggested an ATSG or Haynes service manual. He also said I could call him and he'd walk me through it to figure out what is needed for me to build it right. He was Very knowledgable, and I would recommend talking to him. I remember him saying he's used Borg-Warner clutches and Trans-Go shift kits for several years with great luck. I've heard good things about his shop, and he seemed to be great with customer service on the phone. I don't remember details, but he was talking about how many shops don't know the tricks to get the oil pressure right, and so they burn up. The Sealed Power "Beast" Sunshell and Corvette servo are a couple common upgrades along with more clutches in the 3-4 pack.