PDA

View Full Version : DSE Battery Mount



rocketrod
11-10-2004, 08:24 PM
I am considering relocating the battery to the trunk, IF I can ever stomach the thought of drilling holes in the trunk to run the cables. I have been considering the DSE Battery mount. Is anyone here using one? If so, what are your thoughts, would you do it again, or have any recommendations.


Thanks in advance,
Rod

Hartz
12-04-2004, 09:14 AM
I purchased one for a slightly different application... our '92 Miata V8 conversion. Miatas have funky batteries that are already mounted in the trunk. The V8 requires an upgraded battery, so we were using an Optima red top. The local track inspectors were not thrilled with the homemade L-bracket solution (it SORT of worked! LOL!) we had, so I bought a DSE mount.

It's a nice looking piece. It's pricey, I guess, but not that much more so than similar setups available. I bought the aluminum version, and polished it myself. (That was a lot of work to save $20 in retrospect, but it was sort of fun...)

DSE makes nice stuff. If you've got the dough - go for it.

Hartz

CarlC
12-04-2004, 05:20 PM
Here's the one I use from Speedway Motors. The mother of all links.

http://www.speedwaymotors.com/xq/asp/strBase_List./hilt./source.2192/base_no.91666600/str_base_no.000%2DCATALOG+STREET%2C69810216%2C6982 0009%2C69820112%2C69821504%2C7209258%2C7209323%2C9 1064018%2C91064021%2C91064043%2C91064500%2C9106450 2%2C91064503%2C91064510%2C91066401%2C91066413%2C91 666000%2C91666003%2C91666006%2C91666600%2C/header_title.Street+Rod+Products%2DBatteries%2C+Bo xes+%26+Accessories/page_name.prod%5Flist%5Fdisplay%2Easp/search_type.L2%7E331/search_option./deptsearch./deptSearch_id.225/dept_id.L2%7E331/dept_id_p.225/dept_name./dept_name_p.Street+Rod+Products/ShowImages.yes/sq.0/cont.1/intPgNo.1/redirect./qx/product.htm

It fits and works well. If you spend a bit of time polishing it's super. Not quite as detailed and fancy as the DSE part but very functional.

I did not drill a hole in the trunk. The cable can be routed over the wheelwell, down the inner rear panel, and routed to the front of the car. It does mean having to put a hole and either a big grommet or bulkhead connector in the firewall or toeboard. Mine has a hole under the blower motor, routed over the fenderwell to a block mounted on the radiator support under the RH fender.

CarlC
12-04-2004, 05:26 PM
Here's the one I use from Speedway Motors. The mother of all links.

http://www.speedwaymotors.com/xq/asp/strBase_List./hilt./source.2192/base_no.91666600/str_base_no.000%2DCATALOG+STREET%2C69810216%2C6982 0009%2C69820112%2C69821504%2C7209258%2C7209323%2C9 1064018%2C91064021%2C91064043%2C91064500%2C9106450 2%2C91064503%2C91064510%2C91066401%2C91066413%2C91 666000%2C91666003%2C91666006%2C91666600%2C/header_title.Street+Rod+Products%2DBatteries%2C+Bo xes+%26+Accessories/page_name.prod%5Flist%5Fdisplay%2Easp/search_type.L2%7E331/search_option./deptsearch./deptSearch_id.225/dept_id.L2%7E331/dept_id_p.225/dept_name./dept_name_p.Street+Rod+Products/ShowImages.yes/sq.0/cont.1/intPgNo.1/redirect./qx/product.htm

It fits and works well. If you spend a bit of time polishing it's super. Not quite as detailed and fancy as the DSE part but very functional.

I did not drill a hole in the trunk. The cable can be routed over the wheelwell, down the inner rear panel, and routed to the front of the car. It does mean having to put a hole and either a big grommet or bulkhead connector in the firewall or toeboard. Mine has a hole under the blower motor, routed over the fenderwell to a block mounted on the radiator support under the RH fender.

rocketrod
12-04-2004, 11:04 PM
Thanks CarlC. I cant see spending the extra $$ on the DSE mount, I am so far over budget, LOL :pat:, on my 69 Camaro I will be lucky if I can afford to buy rims and tires next spring!!.

Also thanks for confirming what I was thinking earlier today about running the battery cable as you mentioned. Did you run the cable down (next to) the passenger side door sill or transmision tunnel?


Thanks,
Rod

CarlC
12-07-2004, 05:38 PM
Unfortunately I had to run it next to the tunnel then feed it across the front. If I could have a choice I would prefer to run the cable in the sheet metal channel along the door sill. Due to speaker placement in the kick panels up front I could not fit the cable and have the carpet look right.

For fitment in the trunk you should be able to place two through-bolts with access to the nuts from under the car. For one other (the front outside I think) I could hold a nut in two fingers and wedge them in gap between the wheelwell and trunk floor. For the fourth aft-outside bolt I used a 1/4-20 toggle bolt from the hardware store. It's rock solid. I can send pics if you are interested.

Good luck

rocketrod
12-07-2004, 06:09 PM
CarlC,

Pics are always appreciated. My e-mail address is rtkcfromm@yahoo.com


Thanks again,

Rod

Jagarang
12-09-2004, 05:58 AM
Would you mind sending those pics to me as well? I'll be installing my kit soon as well!!

CarlC
12-12-2004, 09:59 AM
Here's a picture"

http://img98.exs.cx/img98/7467/battery5ti.jpg

Since the car is a driver and spends nights in hotel parking lots I really did not like the idea of having a premanently attached switch accessible from the rear of car. This is a temporary setup until I can fabricate a linkage that will mount through a bumper bolt hole to actuate the switch. This way the link can be removed for overnighters, security is better, and NHRA requirements can be met.

A 10 amp circuit breaker was also added that can bypass the switch. This way power is available to maintain the clocks and various memories while the main switch is off. If more than a few lights and the radio are on the breaker will trip.

On the LH side next to the battery is the main negative cable attachment to the chassis. A hole was already there.

The main + cable can also be seen in the background routed on top of the wheelwell.

MarkM66
12-28-2004, 11:01 AM
Carl,

What type of cable did you use?

CarlC
12-28-2004, 10:21 PM
OK, time for me to fess up to my el-cheapo ways on some things.

I picked up the cable from an electronics surplus house near my home. It's used welding cable. It was in great shape. $10.

MarkM66
12-29-2004, 07:30 AM
OK, time for me to fess up to my el-cheapo ways on some things.

I picked up the cable from an electronics surplus house near my home. It's used welding cable. It was in great shape. $10.

Thanks. Nothing wrong with that, I'm always trying to pench a penny.

ViperBlue68
12-29-2004, 08:25 PM
Carl,
Thanks for the link to speedway motors I ordered the same mount you have in polished for my optima... :woot:

ViperBlue68
01-10-2005, 11:51 PM
I got my mount from speedway but it doesnt fit! :banghead: I have the 75/35 optima the pic on the site wasnt the pic of my battery under will not work with this mount...anyways I will go get the 34/78 optima tommorow which will work...found another mount for $80.00 if anyone is interested heres the link http://www.halbigmachining.com/auto/battmount.html

LT1Nova
01-01-2008, 10:36 AM
Here is mine with my custom made pad and mounts.

I ran the cables up over the wheel wheels and used thru-panel connectors from Jeg's. I will be changing the cables out to larger ones side mount I got from American Autowire. I had just the positive run up at first and had some cranking issues and such so the ground cable got run up to the block as well.

I will be adding a rear disconnect so I can do drag racing. It will probably go through the reflector area of the tail light lens but I have not decided where to mount the switch itself so it does not interfere with normal trunk use. I will change the tail light lens and remove the rod to the switch for normal driving.

http://www.lt1nova.com/ebay/717/ebay6.jpg
http://www.lt1nova.com/ebay/717/ebay1.jpg

Rick Dorion
01-01-2008, 03:21 PM
I did mine similiar to Carl's. I ran the cable up the passenger sill to a bulhead connector under the heater blower. In the engine compartment I have a short cable going to the starter. I have a separate 8 gauge wire going to a connector on the radiator support. The ground cable attachs to a bolt that goes through the right rear trunk floor and then attaches to the rear frame rail. I have welded sfc's and solid body mounts and haven't had any grounding issues.