PDA

View Full Version : Massive single or dual intercoolers?

madmax
12-01-2005, 01:09 PM
Hey everyone,

I just talked to my turbo guy and he said me might want to run two smaller intercoolers rather than one massive one. It might take a little more time to plumb, but, whatever. Is there a place on a '69 Camaro where they would get a pretty decent amount of airflow? I am no expert on anything other than a '69 (haven't been around them as much), but didn't the '68 have two holes in the lower valence? That would be a great place to mount them. Where could I do this with a '69?

Max

ProTeal55
12-05-2005, 05:03 PM
I am no-where near a turbo authority , But I will throw in my 2cents on this one..:icon996:

My buddy had a 1996 Formula , with a wicked Procharged small block , and he did TONS of research on intercoolers. He was racing the car professionally , so every waking minute he had went into making the car faster, and more efficent.

His base kit from Procharger came with two decent sized intercoolers. It was a bitch to install, but looked sweet with the front clip off...That setup worked ok , but when he started to make any decent power , his Air Intake Temps started to get pretty high. On the dyno , the car would break up really bad under decent to high boost, also did it at the high end of the track.

From that , he went to a large single intercooler , and his temps dropped bigtime, and picked up power. The car made smooth power all the way up to redline, without any issue.So , I would say stuff the biggest intercooler you can in the front of the car and be done with it.

With running two intercoolers , the air comming out of intercooler #1 gets heated up going thru the extra piping , thus making intercooler #2 have less of an effect. One large intercooler does the job much better.

That's my 2cents......

pushrod243
12-05-2005, 07:18 PM