PDA

View Full Version : Self-leveling epoxy garage floor?

jjump59
10-12-2005, 09:16 AM
Aybody used this stuff? Found several companies that offer the product but no one that applies it. Have a slightly off floor and need to level the place so I can use the scales anywhere in the shop. thanks

Jim Nilsen
10-12-2005, 07:58 PM
Self leveling epoxy floors are very expensive and it really depends on what you plan on doing on the floor. Jackstands will have to have flat plates put on them you will need to put a sheet steel plate down when you use a floor jack. welding will spatter the surface and in some cases burn it and need repair.

There are also different brands that can help alleviate some of the problems above and they cost more. Actually all epoxy can be used to do this but some will do it easier.

We used epoxies where I used to work to seal up wood block floor to make it smooth so I have had a lot of experience with this. We actually found that for the money per square foot you can actually put down steel instead. 3/8 or 1/2 inch 4ft x 8,10,12 ft steel plates can be leveled and anchored down and will last indefinately if done right. You can use stud anchors and welding to do it or machine anchors and countersink screws to do it. If you use steel you will want to get Mechanically Relieved Steel MRS to do the job right. MRS steel is rolled between two giant rollers and smashed down making it a few thousands thinner and relieving the tension making it molecularly flat and it will stay that way. Hot rolled steel will have waves and warp on you if you weld on it ,cold rolled will also still have waves in it sometimes. MRS is only a few cents more per pound to have it done. If you can't find it let me know and I can tell you where to get it.